Third Time’s The Charm

Well Pat has had her first treatment of the third round of drugs, meaning she had the first round from November  ’09 until March ’10.  She had a 4 month break from then until the second round started July 12, 2010 which lasted until September 8, 2011.  This by the way was a “record” according to her oncologist.  He said when he prescribed that treatment for her that he expected her to be on it for about 3 months, 6 at the most and she was on it 14, yes 14 months.  Never in his 11 years of doing oncology has a patient be on that treatment for that long.  God is Good!

So now we embark on the next phase, the third phase of this Journey.  It has had somewhat of a slow start.  She has had a falling off, so to speak of her appetite and seems to be a little lethargic but the literature on this medication said to expect lower energy levels and some appetite loss.  But as Popeye used to say, “I am who I am” and I am going to be “concerned”  not worried, but concerned.  I will be doing what I can to help her eat more and get rest but the problem is going to be getting her to drink enough fluids.  She had been doing well until this weekend, I suspect the new medication has something to do with it.

We also had a welcomed visit from Antwine and Cynthia Monday.  (That is Antwine on the right edge in the picture above)  It seemed to cheer Pat up.  We looked at some pictures of past trips and videos of trips to Mexico and realized we have done a lot of things in our lives.  God has been good to us and we have had good lives.  He said our future days will be greater than our former days, I am standing on that promise.

Floyd

Exodus 23:25  And ye shall serve the LORD your God, and he shall bless thy bread, and thy water; and I will take sickness away from the midst of thee.

Thank you Lord for my mom’s stay in the hospital not being something serious.  She is back home, feeling much better and says she’s resting comfortably.  Those of you who know my mom know that’s probably more wishful thinking than fact, the “resting” part at least.

4 thoughts on “Third Time’s The Charm

  1. Yes, it was a fun visit. It would be cool if all of your readers could see the video of that Puerto Vallarta trip. Especially the part with Pat talking with ice in her mouth holding her big feet. Hilarious! Good times are priceless. Yes they are.

  2. Well hello Pat any Floyd, this is your friend Randy Temple, this is my checkup call to see how well you doing, I have a feeling that you are doing better by the day. I think and pray for you on a daily basis. I know that you are a very strong person, as well as Floyd who seems also to be strong and loves you so much, I am delighted that you guys have each other, and I believe that if you guys are a positve loving couple, their is nothing can stand in your way. not even cancer could stand in your way. stay strong, you guys are the dymanic duo

    • Thank You Randy,
      We appreciate your prayers and agree that with faith we will defeat the enemy.
      For Isaiah 29:11 says;
      For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
      Exodus 23:25
      And ye shall serve the LORD your God, and he shall bless thy bread, and thy water; and I will take sickness away from the midst of thee.
      These things we believe!
      Be Blessed,
      Floyd

Leave a comment